Edinburgh and East of Scotland Society

of Anaesthetists

President : Dr. Geoff Bowler
Hon. Sec. : Dr Craig Grice
programme of events
member application form
direct debit application form
Nick Gordon Medal - details to be announced
Nick Gordon Medal Guidelines
History of Associate Members prize and Nick Gordon Medal (to 2004)



Is a Society of over 220 members which was established on 1st October 1945, and is open to any health professional with an interest in anaesthesia i.e. both consultant and trainee anaesthetists and veterinarians who administer anaesthesia.


The Society meets on eight occasions per year (excluding the AGM) starting in mid October and ending in March. The meetings provide a forum for various lecturers to present topics of interest to anaesthesia. The meetings usually take place in the Lister Postgraduate Institute, Hill Square, Edinburgh. They are preceded by a meal in the Lister Institute Restaurant.


Once a year we have a combined meeting with the Glasgow and West of Scotland Society of Anaesthetists. The venue alternates between Edinburgh and Glasgow, and a coach is provided to take us all through to Glasgow when it is held there.


In March, Associate Members have an opportunity to present to the Society any work that they have undertaken in submission for the Associate Members Prize. The prize winner is presented with a generous cheque and is also awarded the Nick Gordon Medal. The medal was first awarded in March 2001, and is in memory of a past President of the Society.


The cost of membership is:

Associate (non Consultants) 10 per annum, Full (Consultants) 20 per annum.


In summary, the Society gives you an opportunity to hear some excellent presentations and meet old friends and colleagues from the Borders, Lothian, Fife and Edinburgh in a convivial atmosphere.